Sing Unto The Lord

Sing unto the Lord a new song.

How do you feel about making songs up? Today is a great day to start and it is so easy on top of that. Here is why we should be singing:

Ephesians 5:18b-20 New Living Translation (NLT)

Instead, be filled with the Holy Spirit, 19 singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs among yourselves and making music to the Lord in your hearts. 20 And give thanks for everything to God the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ.

This afternoon I was singing a little didy in my head. It was something like “you’re so Great, holy, holy, holy, you are great.” The words could have been several different things. I find myself singing praise music and worship music and hymns when I am walking. (BTW I walk everywhere because I do not drive). Where does this come from? I do not know. What I do know is that I had forgotten that it is not just in the Psalms that we are encouraged to sing to the Lord but also here in Ephesians.

I stumbled on this passage today, in a devotional book, by Charles Stanley. He focused on a different part of the original passage he used (Ephesians 5:17-21). But I liked this passage. It is so easy for anyone to do. We just open our mouths and let praise come out. It doesn’t have to be a whole song. It can be just a few words over and over like mine today.

I made one such song up 20 years ago and I only remember a small part. Here it is:
Make me invisible
the opposite of all my goals.
Make me invisible
that they may see the Christ inside.

I encourage you to just let loose and sing in your head. Sing a praise. Sing anything that worships God. If you can’t come up with one on your own…start with one from a hymnal or the radio.

Until Next Time~
Blessings, Kate

Photo by Bundo Kim on Unsplash

4 thoughts on “Sing Unto The Lord

Add yours

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started